Board of Directors

Thorn Group Limited is driven by a group of professionals unmatched in their experience and innovation in providing quality products to consumers in return for maximum profits.

David Foster

Chairperson, Independent Non-Executive Director

David Foster was appointed by the Board as a non-executive director on 1 December 2014.  David has had an extensive career in financial services spanning over 25 years.

David is also a non-executive director of Kina Securities Limited, a Senior Advisor to Ernst & Young in Banking and Capital Markets as well as various advisory roles in construction, education and local government.

For a five year period from 2008, David Foster was chief executive officer of Suncorp Bank, Australia’s fifth largest listed bank and the country’s only “A+” rated regional bank. This period included recovery from the global financial crisis and taking the bank to a position where it subsequently achieved an S&P rating upgrade to A+ and was recognised as the Australian Banking & Finance Financial Institution of the Year in 2012 and 2013. During his 11 year career at Suncorp Bank, Mr Foster had responsibility for developing the bank’s strategy and business model, acquisitions, product development and implementation of a significant technology platform.

Mr Foster is the chair of Thorn’s Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee.
He holds qualifications of Bachelor of Applied Science, Master of Business Administration and is a Senior Fellow of FINSIA and Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors."

Stephen Kulmar

Independent Non-Executive Director

Stephen was appointed by the Board as a non-executive director in April 2014.

Stephen is the former Managing Director and Chairman of IdeaWorks and is currently the Managing Director of Retail Oasis Pty. Ltd, a retail marketing and business consultancy company. Stephen has over 40 years’ experience in advertising and has extensive experience in retail strategy, brand strategy, channel to market strategy, digital and social strategy, business re-engineering and new retail business development.

Stephen is also a director of ASX Listed Accent Group Ltd, CreativeOasis Pty Ltd and Edge Pty Ltd. He is also a non-executive director for the not for profit Children’s Tumour Foundation.

Andrew Stevens

Independent Non-Executive Director

Andrew Stevens has some 30 years’ experience in business and technology, spanning program design and delivery risk evaluation, governance, business transformation and regional/global expansion.

Andrew worked at IBM for 12 years, with his roles including Managing Director of Australia and New Zealand for three years, and Managing Partner, Global Business Services and Growth Markets across the APAC region. As IBM ANZ Managing Director, Andrew was involved in transforming the IBM business and client relationships for the Cloud-based market era. Prior to IBM, Andrew led the PricewaterhouseCoopers Consulting business across Asia Pacific.

Andrew has a Master of Commerce from University of New South Wales, is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and an Associate member of Chartered Accountants ANZ. He is the Chair of the Federal Government’s Advanced Manufacturing Growth Centre and holds directorships with MYOB Group Limited, the Greater Western Sydney Giants, the Australian Chamber Orchestra and the Committee for Economic Development in Australia.

Andrew Stevens is the chair of Thorn’s Audit Committee. Andrew Stevens was appointed as a Director effective on June 1, 2015.

Belinda Gibson

Independent Non-Executive Director

Belinda Gibson is a company director and corporate adviser with extensive experience of the securities and financial markets and particularly regulatory strategy, corporate transactions and governance arrangements.

Belinda worked as a corporate and securities partner at global law firm, Mellesons Stephen Jaques, for 20 years. In 2007, she became commissioner and subsequently deputy chair of ASIC. In 2013 she left ASIC to establish her independent corporate advisory business.

Belinda is a non-executive director of Citigroup Pty Ltd, chairs the AMP Advice Review Panel, is a member of the Chief Executive Women board of directors and chairs the CEW Scholarship Committee and is a Trustee of the Australian Museum. By appointment of the Treasurer of New South Wales, Belinda is also a member of the board of governors of Electricity Retained Interest Corporation – Ausgrid; as a director of 9 subsidiaries of that company which collectively will own 49.6% interests in Ausgrid. She has also joined the 2 boards of the partnerships that operate Ausgrid. Belinda is a past director of Airservices Australia and of the charitable body, The Sir Robert Menzies Foundation. Belinda has a Bachelor of Economics and Laws from The University of Sydney and a Master of Laws from The University of Cambridge.

Belinda Gibson is the chair of Thorn’s Risk and Compliance Committee. Belinda was appointed as a Director effective on 1 July 2016.